Cream of Lentil Soup–Sooooothes the Soul.

Winter is approaching, and what better way to combat the cold then a nice bowl of homemade soup. You know what I’m saying? After a long week, comfort and warmth are much appreciated. As human beings, we need these things to survive! So, after my own long week of working on a blood-drive project, preparing for a wedding, and working on the endless amounts of homework that continue to plague my academic career, I thought I would do just that. Find a soup recipe that is  A. feasible B. that won’t put a hole in my pocket and C. provides a little comfort, warmth, and joy. So after a little research I came across this. Bam!

Recipe: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/cream-of-lentil-soup (note: I didn’t use the bay leaf and I substituted 1 clove with a pinch of all spice, replaced the spinach with kale, and used evaporated milk instead of heavy whipping cream)

This was a fantastic recipe. I loved the curry taste (I added more than the recipe called for but hey, a recipe is not always meant to be followed exactly) and the consistency was hearty without being overbearing. It hits the right spot. After an energy depleting week, it’s rewarding to enjoy a satisfying bowl of soup that warms and nourishes. Lentils are jam-packed with nutrients and fairly inexpensive. They are a good source of dietary fiber and protein, with lots of minerals, such as, iron, phosphorus, and manganese. I used evaporated milk opposed to heavy cream, witch cuts down the saturated fat and calorie intake by more than half. So reducing the guilt and adding a dash more satisfaction because let’s be honest, at the end of a long week, what matters is enjoying the simple things. In this case, a nice bowl of warm soup that melts away the stress. At least for a little while.

Image

Leave a comment