Sweet, Sweet Potato Fries.

As I draw back the curtains and look out my bay window, I see the great white abyss has engulfed everything exposed. My car, buried deep in its wrath. Perfect opportunity to stay in and relax, which for me is equivalent to cooking up a storm. Literally. Today’s menu consists of sweet potato fries! A simple classic. Whats even sweeter, is the fact that sweet potatoes are in season and under a dollar for a lb. (about three small/medium sweet potatoes). PERFECT.

I used this recipe, as a guide and made a couple alterations. Since I am cooking for one, one potato was satisfactory. I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, for a nice savory touch and used pepper, curry powder, and cumin seed for a dash of flavor. Caution: Be careful not to cut yourself! Sweet potatoes can be difficult to cut and take a little time, so remember to be patient.

IMG_0054

WOO-BAM. These fries pack a healthy punch and if you devour an entire pan (as I usually do) know it was ONE sweet potato and full of good stuff. What good stuff you might ask. Well, they are a fantastic source of Vitamin A and good sources of Vitamin C and manganese. Feed yourself right and try this simple recipe, you will thank me.

Leave a comment